Women’s Creation

This poem was written by Graciela Bordon. She is an alumnus of the School of Disability Studies, class of 2008. She composed this piece during her graduate work at York University. This is from her collection of fourteen ethnodrama-conversations which she constructed for her MPR. It depicts disabled women’s self representation, the freedom to explore, expand and re-create with art and reclaiming the act of looking and making meaning in the cultural production of “ourselves”. The works of Frida Kahlo were the inspirations behind this piece.

The painting, The Broken Column by Frida Kahlo
(oil on canvas, on masonite, 15¾ x 12 inches/40 x 30.7 cm).
Museo Dolores Olmedo Patiño, Mexico City. http://www.abcgallery.com/K /kahlo/kahlo61.html

 

Women’s Creation

Woman’s own message…
Life and art with “Latinas’ ” essence and roots
Emancipation, subversion and survival
Passion and love
Paintings with palpitate heart
Reasons of life
Paintings and writings
Furtive art
Gestated in women’s entrails
Razón de vida
Reason for creation
Reason for sharing
Reason for gestation
New beginnings of life
Dreams of maternal relations
Dreams and offerings of love
For the fruit of the earth womb
The milk that drips from the earth
Nourishes the earth’s sons
Women weeping…
About the death of your land’s children
Children, creations of life
Creation compelled to desist
Mirror, mirror…
Who Am I?
The monster of the white scrubs
Accused me of
A lack of capacity
The danger of proliferation
Risks of disease
Transmission from heredity
Creation of a monster child
Nevertheless
Every night, under twinkling stars
I create a new life
Fluttering in my womb
The child, fruit of life
What I yearn for so much
Mirror, mirror…
Who Am I?
The monster with the white scrubs
Wrote indifferently
In the medical report:
A bad leg A broken column
33 operations
Father suffers from epilepsy
Mother is native Oaxaca,
With similar symptoms of epilepsy
Five sisters
Three miscarriages
A number of surgical abortions
Great tolerance for pain
Low energy
Lack of appetite
Sexually active
Suffers from depression
Nevertheless
Every night under the twinkling stars
I created a new life
Fluttering in my womb
The child, fruit of life
What I yearn for so much
Mirror, mirror…
Who Am I?
The monster with the white scrubs
Experimented on my body
He amputated my leg
Enslaved my desires
Nevertheless
Every night under the twinkling stars
I created a new life
Fluttering in my womb
The child, fruit of life
What I yearn for so much
The monster with the white scrubs
Inflicted many torments upon me
In the name of medicine
He killed the fruit of my life
He vanquished my hopes
And he shattered my wish to live
Nevertheless
He couldn’t destroy

One thought on “Women’s Creation

  1. Graciala’s poetry: I remember well the first time I encountered it, as supervisor for her final Independent Study. And the words and the rhythms and the meanings and the connections keep coming. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

