Empty Bubbles

This post was written by current student Nicole Meehan.

Three empty text bubbles surrounded by rainbow colours on a black background

I went to mad pride this year and one of the activities involved imagining and brainstorming ideas for what a mad positive space might look like. We were given the options to colour a picture, draw or write down our ideas.

At first I didn’t really have any specific ideas so I drew speech bubbles and coloured around them. I figured an idea of what to write would come to me by the time I finished. An hour and a half later, I still couldn’t think of something to write.

Then I decided that, for me, a safe space is a place where you do not have to say anything at all, where you can simply be. It is a place where you can be comfortable in just being an empty bubble.

Leave a Reply

